“Father, I do not understand you, but I trust you.”

Notice what this means. Christians do not say, “I do not understand you at all, but I trust you anyway.” Rather we say, “I do not understand you in this situation, but I understand why I trust you anyway. Therefore I can trust that you understand even though I dont.”

If we do not know why we trust God in the beginning, then we will always need to know exactly what God is doing in order to trust him. Failing to grasp that, we may not be able to continue trusting him, for anything we do not understand may count decisively against what we are able to trust.

If, on the other hand, we do know why we trust God, we will be able to trust him in situations where we do not understand what he is doing. It may be mystery to us, but mystery is only inscrutable; what would be insufferable is absurdity. Faith does not know why in terms of the immediate, but knows why it trusts God who knows why in terms of the ultimate. 

– Os Guinness

I absolutely do not understand why God has allowed Matthew to die. I don’t understand why He didn’t protect Matt while he was riding to work. But thankfully I do know that I trust my God.

I am so thankful that I have known God for a number of years now, and have studied His Word. This have given me an unshakable faith and trust in God – even when I  suffer and don’t understand. 

Since Matt’s accident I have struggled to feel God’s presence and purpose. But even if it is only head-knowledge; i know that God loves me and has a good plan and purpose for me. Without this knowledge and trust, I don’t think I would be able to get through something as traumatic as this.

Praise God for his trustworthiness. 

xx zs

Leave a Reply

