This morning I started my day with a

This morning I started my day with a little bush walk, to try and clear my head a little. Unfortunately, the last song I listened to as I drove to Carrington Falls got stuck in my head and played itself on repeat for the majority of my walk.

I tried praying; it didn’t work. I tried singing a different song; that didn’t work either. So I pulled a book out of my bag (‘The Problem of Pain’ by C.S. Lewis) and read it as I walked. (And yes, I did stumble often on the uneven ground – but that is beside the point!) 

What I read was interesting and challenging. I often find Lewis’s writing hard to read, with the big words and old-style english, but one paragraph really stood out at me. 

In the introduction of the book Lewis aims to describe Christianity’s origin, as he believes it is necessary if we are to put the problem of pain in its right setting. This is what he writes:

There was a man born among the Jews (Jesus) who claimed to be, or to be the son of, or to be ‘one with’, the Something which is at once the awful haunter of nature  and the giver of the moral law. The claim is so shocking – a paradox, and even a horror, which we may easily be lulled into taking too lightly – that only two views of this man are possible. Either he was a raving lunatic of an unusually abominable type, or else He was, and is, precisely what He said. There is no middle way. If the records make the first hypothesis unacceptable, you must submit to the second. And if you do that, all else that is claimed by Christians becomes credible – that this Man, having being killed, was yet alive, and that His death, in some manner incomprehensible to human thought, has effected a real change in our relations to the ‘awful’ and ‘righteous’ Lord, and a change in our favour. 

(emphasis mine)

So, three things:

  1. Do you take Jesus’ claim to lightly – despite whether or not you believe him?
  2. Which conclusion have to come to? And why?
  3. If you have chosen to believe the truths of the Christian faith, are you living as a result and reflection of them?

Image

In Him

xx zs

One thought on “This morning I started my day with a

Leave a Reply

