Work…

One question that I am faced with on almost a daily basis is “Are you working yet?”

Hmm. Am I working?

“No, I’m not at the moment. I’m just taking some time to do this grieving thing, and to do it properly.”

This is usually followed with an “Oh, ok then”, and a sympathetic nod.

It’s true – I am not working – and this is made possible by the overwhelming generosity of other people (some who know me and some who don’t). So thank you to all of you out there that have given money generously. This has enabled me to take the time I need to stop and process, without having to worry about finding a job straight away.

But as I have thought about it more and more, I have come to the conclusion that yes, I am in fact ‘working’. I work at getting up and out of bed every day. I work at getting dressed and cleaning my teeth. I work at nourishing my body. I work towards having a clean house (well, relatively clean). I work (hard!) at providing and caring for my misbehaving kitten. And who knows, maybe I’m working at writing a book? I guess it’s not ‘work’ in the conventional sense, but for me it’s hard work and it’s a responsibility that I have. 

So you ask, “Are you working at the moment?”

“Yes. I am. I’m working on this whole ‘life’ thing, and people have been selfless and given money to support me as I do it.”

Thank you!

In Him

xx zs

Image

3 thoughts on “Work…

  1. Dearest Zoe… Please please try and remember my advice – please try not to apologise or feel the need to explain anything you say, feel or do right now… Just – be… I am thankful that you are still able to get up each day and put one foot in front of the other… The rest will come when the time is right… Please be kind to yourself for as long as you need to… We can pray for healing for you, but we don’t get to choose when exactly that will happen for you… Sad, but true! Grief is (for many) so incredibly hard on so many, if not every level… If there is anything you need that I can do for you, please don’t hesitate… Praying for you often… Much love xxx

  2. I love this. Life is possibly the hardest ‘work’ there is! Work is easier in some ways. I’m proud of you for working. You’re amazing.

Leave a Reply

