The Things I Miss . . .

Image

I miss the way he was my husband. I miss the way he called me ‘Zoseph of Arimathea’. I miss the way he made me tea. I miss the way he got excited about beer. I miss the way he hated spiders (except for funnel webs – go figure!). I miss the way he read his Bible at night. I miss the way he sang the Pokemon theme song. I miss the way he loved collecting wood for the fireplace. I miss the way he loved fireworks and tried to make some of his own. I miss the way he always stressed that people had heard his explosion. I miss the way he yelled “RUN!” I miss the way he sooked when things didn’t go his way. I miss the way he gave me back rubs. I miss the way he loved playing Halo. I miss the way he loved his guy friends. I miss the way he jumped on trampolines. I miss the way he laughed. I miss the way he always held my hand wherever we went. I miss the way he called me ‘Zo’. I miss the way he sang and played guitar. I miss the way he was great with kids. I miss the way he loved strutting around in his underwear. I miss the way he trimmed the hedges with his samurai sword. I miss the way he was passionate about ministry. I miss the way he brewed his own beer. I miss the way he tried to do handstands. I miss the way he regularly asked me “how can I love you better and serve you more this week?”. I miss the way he sooked when I assured him he was doing a great job already and no improvement was needed. I miss the way he loved rock climbing and exploring with me. I miss the way he struggled to get out of bed every morning. I miss the way he shot me with his Nerf guns. I miss the way he was my partner in crime. I miss the way his long arms wrapped right around me when we hugged. I miss the way he prayed. I miss the way he called me ‘Sir’. I miss the way he would travel any distance to be with me if I asked him to. I miss the way he (annoyingly) slept on my side of the bed. I miss the way he wrote lists all the time so he didn’t forget the important things. I miss the way he dressed. I miss the way he smiled. I miss the way he protected and looked after me. I miss the way he cooked. I miss the way he sought to grow as a man, a Christian, a leader, and a husband. I miss the way his lanky legs moved when he ran. I miss the way he was such a hopeless romantic. I miss the way he persistently tried to teach me Dutch. I miss the way he talked in his sleep about kittens, Pokemon, Indian men and Braveheart. I miss the way he loved tattoos, especially biblical ones. I miss the way he cleaned out the chimney. I miss the way he called me ‘Beautiful’. I miss the way he loved orange. I miss the way he cried when he was upset or his heart was breaking. I miss the way he fixed things around the house. I miss the way he was so excited about being a dad. I miss the way he had all these awesome plans for our future. I miss the way he loved bacon and steak. I miss the way he gave me piggybacks. I miss the way he tried to make me give him piggybacks but I always collapsed under his weight. I miss the way we always ended up in a heap on the ground. I miss the way he had really long showers. I miss the way he called me ‘babe’. I miss the way he shot me with his BB guns. I miss the way he tried so hard to be friends with both of his bunnies. I miss the way he was my best friend. I miss the way he kept all the notes and gifts I gave him. I missed the way he loved to work out. I miss the way he encouraged and affirmed me. I miss the way he often broke things when he was trying to fix something else. I miss the way he gave me foot rubs. I miss the way he loved anime and manga. I miss the way he was so much fun but could also be very serious when it was needed. I miss the way he led me spiritually. I miss the way he loved knives and swords. I miss the way he snuck me a cup of tea before church from the 8 o’clock service. I miss the way he was passionate about his work. I miss the way he loved Jesus. I miss the way he called me ‘Wifey’. I miss the way he loved me. I miss the way he completed me.

Image

xx zs

One thought on “The Things I Miss . . .

Leave a Reply

