‘You are good, and what you do is good…’ (Psalm 119:68)

Image

“God is good, all the time. All the time, God is good(?)”

If someone asked me today “Is God good?” I’d say “Yes, of course he is!”

My Bible-believing, theologically-trained, ministry-loving self would never say otherwise. But what about me? Just me? Zoe Schuthof. Take away the educated, head knowledge and what am I left with?

Is God good? Is he good to me? Not just in general, but is he good to me in my day-by-day life?

“Umm…”

Let’s take today for example:

I am blessed with friends to sit and laugh with. I have people checking in on me to see how I’m going. There is an abundance of coffee to be drank. The sun is shining. The wind has dropped. I have hot water for a shower (or two)! I have a family that love and support me. I have an amazing Mum who blesses me with clean sheets for my bed. There are sheep to talk to. I have a Squid who God created specially for me; to keep me company, to make me laugh, to get me up in the morning, and to mess up my sheet-changing. I have clean sheets on my bed tonight. I have music to listen to. I have my health. I have youth. I have a fireplace to keep me warm through the punishing Robertson winter. I have water to drink, (who am I kidding…I have water to boil for tea and coffee!). I have books to read. I have a car. I have Jesus as my King. And did I mention that it’s clean sheet night tonight?

All of this stuff – and more – is clearly evidence that yes, God is good to me. But what about the cloud that hangs over all of these blessings? What about the glaringly obvious shit circumstances that are my reality? (excuse the French). What about that? Is God good to me in allowing me to fall in love with and marry the greatest guy in the world (I’m not even exaggerating here), only to let him be tragically snatched away 2 months later?

“…um…”

No way.

Surely not?

Maybe?

…y-yes?…

My heart screams “NO FLIPPING WAY!”, but there is an undeniable amount of evidence that amidst the fog, through the crap, and despite the pain, somehow God is still good. Deep down, I know this to be true. It’s not easy for me to see at times, but it’s there…and when I can’t see it through the fog I choose to trust my Bible-believing, theologically-trained, ministry-loving mind.

I choose to trust my good God.

“I realized anew that, just as we must learn to obey God one choice at a time, we must also learn to trust God one circumstance at a time. Trusting God is not a matter of my feelings but of my will. I never feel like trusting God when adversity strikes, but I can choose to do so even when I don’t feel like it. That act of the will, though, must be based on belief, and belief must be based on truth.”  – Jerry Bridges

xx zs

One thought on “‘You are good, and what you do is good…’ (Psalm 119:68)

Leave a Reply

