Be Still . . .

Image

 

“Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

– Psalm 46:10-11

Why is it so important for us to ‘be still’ before God?

What does ‘being still’ even mean? What does it look like in our day-to-day lives?

Regarding vs.10, the study notes in my Bible say this:

‘War and destruction are inevitable, but so is God’s final victory. At that time, all will stand quietly before the Lord Almighty. How proper, then, for us to be still now, reverently honouring him and his power and majesty. Take time each day to be still and to exalt God.’ 

Well yes, that does make sense. God is indeed victorious, powerful and majestic, and therefore hugely worthy of our praise and honour. I guess my question is this: what does this look like practically for me and for you? What does it mean for me today as I sit here at my desk with the whole day ahead of me to do as I please? 

Be still and know that I am God…

Wait patiently for the Lord…

Praise his holy name…

These all sound like nice, biblical things to be doing – but how do they play out realistically in our lives? 

This idea of ‘being still’ and ‘spending time with God’ is so appealing to me – especially in these hard times…but I often struggle to put them into practise…and I don’t think that I am alone in this battle.

I often have conversations with friends and fellow Christians that go something like this: “I really need to read my Bible more, but I find it so hard!”, “I want to spend more time with God, but I don’t know how to do it.”, “I desire to feel God’s presence in my life, but I am so busy all the time and He just gets pushed into the background.”, “I need to prioritise my time better; I spend too much time in front of the telly and on the internet, and not enough time praying.”

Sound familiar? I think I have been on both the giving and receiving end of these statements many times.

I also wonder if it is harder for us in today’s day and age. I mean, we are (I am!) such slaves to media and entertainment. When we’re at home we have the TV on, music playing, FaceBook open, we are texting and emailing almost constantly…we are rarely still and rarely silent. Even when we are out exercising or walking we have our phones in our pockets and our headphones in our ears! Is this why we find the concept of ‘being still’ so foreign?

This is one thing I am personally working on at the moment…being able to be at home alone without having noise is the background, and a screen in front of my face. Obviously I can’t do it all the time – well maybe I could but I do like reading online, studying and writing on this blog – but I feel personally convicted to spend less time in front of a screen and more time in front of my Saviour.

xx zs

Image

 

Leave a Reply

