Work . . .

Work . . .

Just in case, I will leave my things packed
So I can run away

I cannot trust these voices I don’t have a line of prospects that can give some kind of peace
There is nothing left to cling to that can bring me sweet release
I have no fear of drowning
It’s the breathing that’s taking all this work

Do you know what I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”?
What I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”

Empty spaces with shadows hit by streetlights
Warnings signs and weight of tired conversations
In the absence of a shoulder, in the abscess of a thief
On the brink of this destruction, on the eve of bittersweet
Now all the demons look like prophets and I’m living out
Every word they speak, every word they speak

Do you know what I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”?
What I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”
What I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”

Do you know what I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”?
What I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”
What I mean when I say, “I don’t want to be alone”
Alone, alone, I don’t want to be alone

I have no fear of drowning
It’s the breathing that’s taking all this work

xx zs

3 thoughts on “Work . . .

  1. It’s a very good ‘grief song’; I have been known to play it on continuous repeat. Redemption is another of theirs I have found healing and helpful (along with many of their others) though I always think of it as the “never would have come this way” song because that’s one of my favorites lines.

    Peace to you, friend. xoxo

    Monica

Leave a Reply

